European Society for Translation Studies

The EST announces its 2012 Summer School Scholarship

The European Society for Translation Studies has selected the Colombian scholar David Orrego-Carmona as the winner of its 2012 Summer School Scholarship.

This year the Summer School Scholarship Committee comprised Barbara Ahrens, Alexandra Assis Rosa, Gyde Hansen (chair), Iwona Mazur, Franz Poechhacker and Sonia Vandepitte. It received three applications. The committee carefully evaluated the applications and unanimously decided that the winner of the annual scholarship should be David Orrego Carmona of the Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain. The decision has been ratified by the EST Executive Board.

David Orrego’s research project is entitled An Empirical Study of the Quality of Non-Professional Subtitling. He will receive 1,000 euros to attend the 2012 CETRA Summer School in Leuven, Belgium.

The Scholarship Committee and the EST Executive Board are concerned by the low number of applications received. In consequence, they have decided to alter the rules slightly: until now, all applicants had to be paid-up EST members – from 2013, only the WINNING candidate will have to become an EST member.

For more information:
EST Summer School Scholarship