European Society for Translation Studies

EST newsletter editors

The Society’s biannual Newsletter is edited by:

Claudine Borg
BA in French and International Relations (University of Malta), MA in Translation and Interpreting (University of Malta), PhD in Translation Studies (Aston University). Lecturer at the Department of Translation, Terminology & Interpreting Studies, University of Malta. Literary translator.
Maria Abad Colom

BA in Translation and Interpreting (Universidad de Alicante), MA in Conference Interpreting (Universidad de La Laguna), PhD in Translation and Interpreting (Universidad de Alicante). State-authorized translator and interpreter. Associate Professor at the Department for International Studies and Interpreting, Oslo Metropolitan University.

Raphael Sannholm

BA in English Linguistics (Stockholm University), MA in Translation Studies (Stockholm University), PhD in Translation Studies (Stockholm University). Lecturer at the Department of Swedish and Multilingualism/the Institute for Interpreting and Translation Studies, Stockholm University.

Esther de Boe

BA in Applied linguistics, MA in Translation, European MA in conference interpreting (EMCI) (Artesis University College), MA in Liberal Arts (University of Utrecht), PhD in Translation Studies (University of Antwerp). Post-doctoral research fellow at the University of Antwerp. Interpreter and translator.


The newsletter is published twice a year, in May and November. It functions as a vehicle for communication between members and as a catalyst for action, rather than a traditional translation journal. Its content includes messages from the Executive Board, information about the Society’s activities, various reports and some short articles on various research-related topics such as reviews of theses and dissertations and suggestions for beginners in Translation studies. Issue Number 1 was published in November 1992.
Editorial teams have included Barbara Ahrens, Daniel Gile, José Lambert, Reine Meylaerts, Matilde Nisbeth Jensen, Franz Pöchhacker, Sieglinde Pommer, Christina Schäffner, Kyriaki Kourouni, and Elisabet Tiselius.
Back issues can be accessed in the Members section of the website.