European Society for Translation Studies

Young Scholar Prize

The next EST Young Scholar Prize will be presented at the EST Congress in Oslo in 2022. The value of the prize is EUR 3,000.

The prize is for an excellent and significant contribution by a young scholar to Translation or Interpreting Studies such as a doctoral thesis or equivalent monograph, not necessarily published. The work must have been completed and approved by the relevant doctoral committee (in the case of a doctoral thesis) between 31 January 2019 and 31 January 2022.


Who can apply
Applicants must be members of the Society at the time of application. Applicants must apply in person. Supervisors and other EST members are requested to draw the attention of potential applicants to the prize.


How to apply (for 2022)
Applications must be submitted electronically to EST General Secretary Maureen Ehrensberger-Dow at: starting on January 1st, 2022, until January 31, 2022. For applicants whose doctoral thesis is only approved in January 2022, the submission deadline is February 28, 2022.


Applications must include

  • the thesis or monograph to be evaluated,
  • a detailed abstract of between 1,000 and 1,500 words explaining the methodology used as well as the significance of the contribution and the innovation it offers,
  • the curriculum vitae of the applicant.

The work may be in any language. The abstract and curriculum vitae must be in English.


Each application will be assessed by referees appointed by the EST Young Scholar Prize Committee. The assessment criteria are:

  1. Methodology (design, implementation, inferences in the case of empirical studies, and the approach, logic, use of appropriate concepts and theories etc. in non-empirical studies.
  2. General contribution and degree of innovation of the work to the field
  3. Form (clarity, language correctness, terminological adequacy, typos, layout, tables etc.)

The final decision will be proposed by the Young Scholar Prize Committee and ratified by the EST Executive Board.


Previous winners of the prize