European Society for Translation Studies

Summer/Winter School Scholarship

Deadline for applications: 7 June 2024

Students who are preparing a doctoral dissertation in the field of Translation Studies (which includes interpreting and localization) are invited to apply for this scholarship of EUR 1,000. Applicants must be EST members at the time of applying. You can find information about joining EST here.

The grant can be for any summer or winter school organized in the field of Translation Studies for the purpose of training researchers. Applications will be evaluated by a committee who will base their judgement on the application as a whole, taking into account all of the requested information: the technical quality of the project, the applicant’s competences and needs, and the relationship between the project and the summer or winter school programme selected.

To apply, please fill in the application form (including the attachments) and send it to the EST Secretary General. Along with the form, applicants are asked to send a letter of recommendation from their dissertation advisor as a PDF or scanned attachment. Receipt of complete applications will be acknowledged by e-mail.


The name of the scholarship recipient will be announced on the Society’s website within a few weeks of the deadline and a notice will also be sent (by e-mail) to each of the candidates.

Previous scholarship holders:
2004: Müge Isiklar Kocak (Izmir, Turkey)
2005: Ahmad Ayyad (Aston, UK)
2006: Cristina Valentini (Forlì, Italy)
2007: Seyda Eraslan (Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey)
2008: Elisabet Tiselius (Stockholm, Sweden), Alberto Fernández Costales (Oviedo, Spain)
2009: Hanna Pięta (Lisbon, Portugal), Maria Tymczyńska (Poznań, Poland), Alice Leal (Vienna, Austria)
2010: Sabina Tcaciuc (Aston, UK)
2011: Kyriaki Kourouni (Thessaloniki, Greece). Report here.
2012: David Orrego-Carmona (Tarragona, Spain). Report here.
2013: Alenka Morel (Ljubljana, Slovenia). Report here.
2014: Paweł Korpal (Poznań, Pland). Report here.
2015: Juho Suokas (Eastern Finland). Report here.
2016: İnci Sarız-Bilge (Amherst, US). Report here.
2017: Marie-France M. K. Guénette (Montréal, Canada). Report here.
2018: Gisele Dionísio da Silva (Lisbon, Portugal; report here), Maura Radicioni (Bologna, Italy; report here), Devrim Ulaş Arslan (İzmir, Turkey; report here)
2019: Elizaveta Vasserman (Leeds, UK). Report here.
2020/2021: Rosana Esquinas (Murcia, Spain). Report here.
2022/2023: Giada Brighi (Stockholm, Sweden).