European Society for Translation Studies

Open Access Prize Committee

Luc van Doorslaer (Chair)

Chair Professor for Translation Studies at the University of Tartu, also affiliated to KU Leuven and Stellenbosch University. Vice President of EST. Journal co-editor of Translation in Society (John Benjamins) and book series co-editor of Translation, Interpreting & Transfer (Leuven University Press).



Piotr Blumczynski

MA in English, PhD in Translation, post-doctoral habilitation (University of Wroclaw, Poland). Senior Lecturer at the Centre for Translation and Interpreting, Queen’s University Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK. Editor of Translation Studies (Routledge).



Helle V. Dam

MA in Translation and Interpreting Spanish-Danish, PhD in Interpreting Studies, Professor in Interpreting and Translation Studies, School of Communication and Culture, Aarhus University, Denmark.


Sandra L. Halverson

Professor at University of Agder, Norway. Member of the Translation Research, Empiricism and Cognition network (TREC). She was co-editor of Target (John Benjamins) for eight years and currently serves on the editorial boards of several international journals. CETRA Chair Professor in 2018.


Dorothy Kenny

Full Professor of Translation Studies at Dublin City University, Ireland. Principal Investigator on the EU-funded MultiTraiNMT project. Co-General Editor of the journal Translation Spaces (John Benjamins) and an Honorary Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Linguists.


 Loredana Polezzi

BA in Modern Languages (University of Siena), MA in Italian Studies and PhD in Translation Studies (Warwick University). Alfonse M. D’Amato Chair in Italian American and Italian Studies (Stony Brook University), co-editor of The Translator (Routledge).